Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > General > Work and Careers

advertisement
Unread 03-20-2017, 04:57 AM   #1
Newly Joined
joshhsct has no updates.

Default Dealing with a lying coworker

Hi, All. This is actually my first post and I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask it, I know It's really long, feel free to close it if it doesn't belong here.

Iím working as an iOS developer in a mid-sized company, our IT department has 15 employees, most of them are web developers, the app-team consists of me and another guy (letís call him John). I have been working in the company since October 2015, John has been working there since 2014.

When I started working there I spent a couple of months learning Objective C and iOS development, so I didnít really have to work together with John, that went well and once I was ready, we were tasked with rewriting the app from the ground up.

This is when I started noticing that thereís some bad chemistry between the two of us, first of all John was behaving like heís a sociophobe, insecure and sometimes rude: not interested in going out for lunch together, avoiding meetings, in meetings he would rarely say anything, looking at his computer and not participating in discussions, my other colleagues complained that he is tough to work with and that he often ignores mails and Jira inquiries, at the same time most people viewed him as a hard working busy-guy, thatís because he often claimed to be working at nights up to 80 hours a week. (Unpaid overtime) One thing worth pointing out is that even though he was behaving like this with me and the other colleagues, he never behaved like this with our boss (C.T.O.)