Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > >

advertisement

Old 04-11-2018, 10:28 PM   #1
photo1la
Newly Joined
photo1la has no updates.

Default Imposter Syndrome Effecting My Career

I'm struggling with imposter syndrome. It seems to come in waves. Lately it's been hard to work because of it and have had a lack of interest in pursuing my career.

I am a commercial photographer in LA and have shot for some well known companies, however, I honestly believe these gigs I landed were pure luck. I am self taught and have only been doing this specific type of photography for about 3 years now. So I am very new to the industry. The opportunities I have had do not equate with my experience level.

I'm constantly in fear that clients will "find me out" and realize I have no clue what I'm actually doing and be disappointed in my work. Also with the high rates I charge for my work I have to fake the confidence that my work is actually worth this much.

It's gotten to the point that I feel like I must be scamming people because there's no way I deserve to make six figures and only work 1 day week.

I continually compare my work to the top in the industry, people who have been doing photography for 30+ years and get frustrated that my work isn't as good. I'm a perfectionist so this also attributes to me constantly feeling like my work isn't good enough.

I'm not sure how to overcome this but wanted to see if anyone else has experienced this and what has helped them.

Thank you for taking the time to read.
photo1la is offline   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:

advertisement
Old 04-13-2018, 04:41 PM   #2
Wild Coyote
Wise Elder
Community Liaison

Wild Coyote has no updates.

My Mood: Imposter Syndrome Effecting My Career

2 yr Member
46.5k hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Heart Re: Imposter Syndrome Effecting My Career

I have not experienced this per se.

I'd say your photography is worth the money since you are getting paid a high rate for it. Good for you!

WC