Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > General > School and Study Issues

advertisement
Unread 01-09-2017, 05:33 AM   #1
Chocopiano27 has no updates.

My Mood:

2 yr Member
31 hugs
given
Default Art student problems, help please?

Currently I'm studying at an art school, which is great since art is my passion. But i have two main problem, I'm not confident of my art and I'm sort of a perfectionist.

Every time I think of something I always seem to deny it and think of it as ugly, and I'm afraid of people with higher skill and ability to criticize my art. It's easy for me to feel discouraged by my own expectations and thinking.

In a group I'm usually open for suggestions, but it's rather hard for me to be the one suggesting something, I'm never confident about my own ability and art, and I'm afraid of other people judging the things I feel good about. Usually I'd just keep silent and be a good listener. At the end I never really think of anything about me being 'good', it's either 'so-so' or 'damn ugly'.

This kind of thinking also effects my leadership ability, lots of people think I have qualities in my self, but it fails to show because of this negative thinking I've been fighting for years.

Do you have suggestions or maybe tips for me to solve this problem? It would be a huge help for my studies and career in the future.
Chocopiano27 is offline   Reply With Quote

advertisement
Unread 01-09-2017, 11:05 AM   #2
Magnate

MickeyCheeky My echo is the only voice coming back

My Mood:

3,320 hugs
given
Default Re: Art student problems, help please?

I'm sorry you feel this way It looks like you may have self-esteem problems. Maybe counseling would help?
MickeyCheeky is online now   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:
Hugs from:
Unread 01-11-2017, 04:09 AM   #3
ken9018 has no updates.

My Mood:

148 hugs
given