Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > >

advertisement

Old 02-23-2018, 12:24 AM   #1
smallturtle

smallturtle has no updates.

My Mood: I'm an EMT/pre-med student and being surrounded by human suffering is hard

1 hugs
given
Trig I'm an EMT/pre-med student and being surrounded by human suffering is hard

As stated, I'm an EMT-B in a small Midwestern city as well as a pre-med student with a concentrated interest in psych.

My parents already think I made a mistake by going into EMS. I really resent their attitude towards it, actually. My most significant struggles are anorexia and schizoaffective disorder, and I thought I was okay but maybe I'm just in denial. I don't know.

I am so tired of going through the motions of prehospital care. Don't ever believe someone who tells you they save lives in EMS. It's a lie. I feel like what I'm doing is basically pointless. Statistically, nearly every patient who I get ROSC back on ends up dying in the ICU from pneumonia anyway. The same heroin addicts need us to come Narcan them every single week. I see now how manipulative, selfish, and indifferent people can really be. I went into medicine to help people, but I'm just a punching bag, taxi driver, or undertaker depending on the shift.

It's probably also worth mentioning that a serious trauma anniversary is going to fall on the 9th of March and I have been dreading it for months. I'm scared this is all self-sabotage and I hate myself for it. I feel so paranoid all the time and I can't stop the worry that something terrible is going to happen. There have been a couple times where I don't even know if something is real or not. I don't know why this is happening to me. I go to therapy, take my meds, and do my best in work or school.