Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > >

advertisement

Old 01-17-2019, 01:29 PM   #1
ZenZeta
ZenZeta has no updates.

My Mood: I'm Not Good at Modern Dating

5 yr Member
Default I'm Not Good at Modern Dating

So, there's been a new development with my quiet guy. We've been spending some time together and have become intimate.

I know that in 2019 being intimate with someone doesn't make you a couple, and I CLEARLY communicated that I "can't be one of many" BEFORE we took that step. I told him that I believe in committed, monogamous relationships.

So, I had no problem asking what "the rules" were as we crossed that threshold. His answer was less than desirable for me.

He said he still wants to "see" other people but only sleep with me

I honestly told him that doesn't work for me, and that I would have to take the physical aspect out of the relationship to protect my heart. He seemed to understand.

So...since he stated that he wanted an "open" relationship, I decided to accept a dinner invitation from a long-time male friend of mine. When Mr. Quiet asked if I was coming over, I told him that I had other plans. He asked me if it was a date, and I told him it was just dinner.

He responded that he wasn't happy with that.

When I reminded him of our conversation about seeing other people, he still seemed to be bothered.

So... he wants to see other people, but doesn't want me to see other people?

I ended the conversation by letting him know that his feelings are important to me, but I also need to take my own into consideration. While I can certainly understand his need to take his time with his decision regarding "us", I will remain open to seeing other people.

That's only fair.

Why is he so upset? Is his true jerk starting to reveal his ugly head?
ZenZeta is offline   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:

advertisement
Old 01-17-2019, 01:42 PM   #2
s4ndm4n2006
Chat Moderator
Chat Leader

s4ndm4n2006 has no updates.

3 yr Member
167 hugs
given