Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Health & Other Support > Partners of People & Caregivers Support > Partners of People with Personality Disorders

advertisement
Unread 06-11-2017, 09:57 AM   #1
MyBrainneedssupport has no updates.

Default Don't know where to start

I just don't even know where to start,

i am in a relationship with a narcissist, i've been learning what i can online for a few months now, after figuring out im not crazy/deluded/forgetful to the extreme ect, but instead my partner has narcissistic traits,

i have learnt to cope with him a bit better, and simply understanding it is mr hyde who is the bad one, and my Dr Jekyll needs some help has been very helpful in reducing my retaliation to his behaviour

against advice i found online i have put the suggestion to my partner that may have narcissistic traits, it got to the point where it was tell him or leave.

he read some info i had printed off about narcissistic and could see plenty of similarities in himself,
and he has an appointment booked with our
GP in a couple of weeks, this is all great and when he said these things obviously i was thrilled he wanted help.

a few days later,i'm thinking i'm not sure if he meant it or if it is another game to keep me from leaving, as the only times he has opened up and seriously talked about this in a way he never has before, is the two times in the last 2 months when i was going to leave him..

i really want to (and obviously do, as i'm still here) believe when he says that he wants to change,
but its difficult to keep believing when his behaviour is still the same, which i know it will be for a while as it wont happen over night...

its so hard to tell what is real and what isn't.

i need some support, there is no one in my life with whom i can discuss this with.

any advise would be greatly received.
MyBrainneedssupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Hugs from:

advertisement
Unread 06-11-2017, 07:23 PM   #2
Wise Old Troll