Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > >

advertisement

Old 06-14-2018, 10:49 PM   #1
John Primo78
John Primo78 has no updates.

2 yr Member
Default transcranial magnetic stimulation

does anyone have any experience with TMS? My Pdoc would like to try this on me as I am on a lot of meds. The school of thought that he is using is this may help reduce the amount on meds I am on.

any thoughts on this or anyone with experience with this, id like to hear what you think

John

advertisement
Old 06-17-2018, 02:27 PM   #2
Rohag
Wise Elder

Rohag is updating.

8 yr Member
8,503 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Re: transcranial magnetic stimulation

I have no experience with TMS. My former pdoc, who is now retired, had a lot of experience with ECT, and he felt it would be better for me to undergo TMS rather than ECT if it became an option. It never became an option.
Old 06-17-2018, 03:22 PM   #3
MDDBPDPTSD

MDDBPDPTSD has no updates.

My Mood: transcranial magnetic stimulation

8 yr Member
221 hugs
given

I am currently considering Deep TMS as an option. My current SNRI is pooping out, so I need to do something. I have heard that deep TMS can be successful in 70% of patients. 50% have their depression go into remission!
With repetitive TMS, the numbers are not quite as good, it still works for many, so it might help.
Let us know how it goes if you get it. Iíll do the same.
Old 06-24-2018, 12:03 PM   #4
with or without you
Poohbah

with or without you has no updates.

5 yr Member PC PoohBah!

I am doing it now and am nearing the end of treatment, I only have 4 more sessions left. Like you, I was also encouraged by my psychiatrist to look into it because medication doesnít work, itís just making me fat and the benzos are screwing with my memory.

I donít know how familiar you are with TMS, but the magnetic coil is placed over the left side of your head. Itís supposed to ďwake upĒ the left prefrontal cortex of the brain, the ďdepressionĒ side.