Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Depression

advertisement
Unread 08-19-2017, 12:15 PM   #1
Kepler22b has no updates.

My Mood:

3 hugs
given
Default Positive "Zen" Steps

This is a thread where I will post on a regular basis the "Zen" steps that I am taking in an effort to manage my depression. I have been practicing yoga for several months and recently I have started to practice Zen meditation. I also find comfort by being and observing Nature

You are welcome to add yours.

Last edited by Kepler22b; 08-19-2017 at 01:36 PM.
Kepler22b is offline   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:

advertisement
Unread 08-19-2017, 12:21 PM   #2
952p65823 has no updates.

119 hugs
given
Default Re: Positive "Zen" Steps

There's a Hebrew phrase, naar hayiti gam zakanti, I once was young but now am old, and finally I think I am getting better at being mindful of my moods. One thing I tell myself is "you're having a bad mood, but it doesn't have to affect anything in reality."
952p65823 is offline   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:
Unread 08-19-2017, 01:26 PM   #3

My Mood:

3 hugs
given
Default The Day Before Yesterday

Negative thoughts were racing inside my head and I felt hopeless and mentally “lazy”. I didn't want to walk and practice yoga. I wanted to keep feeling miserable…or so it seemed.

I wrestled this negative thinking and forced myself to drive to one of the places where I had been practicing yoga this summer. I would leave my options open. At the end, I pushed myself to walk and practice yoga.

I am glad I did it because while doing the shoulder stand pose a star looked straight into my eyes. On the way back to the car, bats flew around me and an owl appeared out of the blue. I began to imitate the owl’s call and the bird checked me out few more times before disappearing into the coming night.