Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > >

advertisement

Old 12-06-2017, 02:47 PM   #1
Mrs.Butterfly

Mrs.Butterfly flying through the winds of change.

My Mood: Serious question about chronic pain.

19 hugs
given
Question Serious question about chronic pain.

Hello everyone.

I hope you all are having an easy going, hopefully, pain free day.

This is my first time posting in this section, but I figured this wouldn't hurt. I have some questions and would really appreciate some advice from people with similar feelings.

So, I am in my 20's and I have struggled with chronic, daily pain for years now. I am only now figuring out my health, and how to better take care of myself. I have found a wonderful PCP, and she listens when I have struggled. However, I have been nervous to open up to her how I am in daily pain. Because I am fearful of being labeled as a hypochondriac, or that it is "just something that will go away".

I have different kinds of anemia, but my wonderful anemia doctor (I have two separate doctors), say that this pain is not having to do with the anemia. Since the treatment for my anemia doesn't seem to alleviate the pain I have all time.

(Please don't judge this)

For a while now, I've wondered if I have fibromyalgia. I would like to speak to my doctor about it, for testing. But I am nervous, for different reasons. But the more I deal with it, the more I just want answers.

These are the symptoms I deal with:

- Widespread pain, (made worse when the weather changes - aka sudden cold, change in air pressure/ rain).

- Female time is more painful.

- Tired a lot of the time, (even with rest, caffeine, and B12).

What should I do? How do I talk to my doctor about this?

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

advertisement
Old 12-06-2017, 07:48 PM   #2
lizardlady
Legendary

lizardlady hurts like holy heck

10 yr Member
5,035 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Re: Serious question about chronic pain.