Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Attachment Disorders

advertisement

Old 04-15-2018, 10:46 AM   #1
NomadHare has no updates.

Default Do I have to give up on relationships?

Hi everyone - I could really do with some others' insight.

I am 40, have a life-long history of depression and failed relationships. I have done all sorts of soul searching and therapy over the years. I am currently 3 years in with a brilliant relational psychotherapist, however i am still having serious difficulty.

I certainly have a fearful-avoidant attachment style, erring on the side of avoidant. But I wonder if I have avoidant personality disorder.

On the surface I seem confident, friendly, capable. I'm a pro active person, and when depression hasn't got it's claws into me I do and have done all sorts with my life around this illness. However when it comes to relating to people I really struggle.

My therapist is helping me to deal with the affects of a mother with Narcissistic Personality Disorder. There is no doubt I experienced childhood trauma. And I a have done a lot of accepting and worked hard with all the information I have.

I'm fine when I meet people for the first time, or at 'arms length', but once it becomes close I withdraw. My boyfriend was a friend before we got together. For once i thought i was getting it right, not getting caught up in a whirlwind, but genuinely loving being around someone. We have been together for over 2 years. I have told myself it's his own ill mental health that has kept me at a distance, but I am about to end this relationship again (this has happened over and over in the past with many guys, when i think i have finally got it right) as I can't feel love for him through this numb fear, and any kind of need from his direction just makes me want to create distance.