Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Anxiety, Panic and Phobias

advertisement

Old 01-03-2018, 12:15 PM   #1
LambCotlet has no updates.

My Mood:

Default Flight anxiety

Hi guys,

Does anyone have any helpful tips on coping with flight anxiety? I am flying tomorrow and I am starting to get really nervous. I fly regularly as I have to keep up with family (it's a short 3 hour flight) and I've been flying for around 5 years, 3-4 times a year. I was fine in the beginning (I loved my first flight) but in the last year I've started to feel terrible in the plane (and before the flight). I was so horrified the last time we flew, I cried in my boyfriend's arms when we felt a bit of turbulence.

I tried breathing exercises and distracting myself with reading/colouring, but every time I feel a bit of shaking I stop doing whatever I'm doing and I just start to look around and "notice" what's happening. When the turbulence stops, I continue to read and everything is fine.

I really want to overcome this as I feel like a complete nervous wreck ball and I hate that. I don't know if I've got the strength to overcome this and if I do have it, how to find it in myself and put it to good use...

Any tips are greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
LambCotlet is offline   Reply With Quote
"Thanks for this!" says:
Hugs from:

advertisement
Old 01-03-2018, 08:51 PM   #2
Apparition

Skeezyks has no updates.

My Mood:

2 yr Member
9,260 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Smile Re: Flight anxiety

Hello Lamb: I see this is your first post here on PC. So... welcome to PsychCentral! I hope you find the time you spend here to be of benefit.

Here are links to some articles from PsychCentral's archives that may be of some interest:

https://blogs.psychcentral.com/relat...ng-turbulence/

https://psychcentral.com/lib/9-ways-...ere-right-now/

https://blogs.psychcentral.com/relat...used-approach/

https://psychcentral.com/blog/archiv...ear-of-flying/