Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > General > Work and Careers

advertisement
Unread 02-15-2013, 09:21 PM   #1
njguy81 has no updates.

1 hugs
given
Default 30 and Have NO career at all.. cant even get Entry Level!

I'm already 30 and am applying to entry-level jobs!! I should already be mid-career by now, right??

Basically, any job I started in the last 10 years I couldnt go through with. Most of them I quit on my own.. but one or two was a mutual separation.

At least 3 of them I ended up in a argument/fight with a co-worker or boss.

I'm not a natural talker or very social.. so alot of these jobs had me doing customer service or sales.. which felt very out of my comfort zone.

I have a liberal arts degree which has done Nothing for me. I would have made more $$ had I started with a temp agency at age 18 and worked my way up in a company that way.

With my degree, I should really be doing writing or something I like.. but could never find full-time work in that. So had to take other jobs to pay bills.

Feeling self-conscious at 30 and not sure what to next???
njguy81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Grand Magnate
avlady avlady

My Mood:

1,597 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Re: 30 and Have NO career at all.. cant even get Entry Level!

I'm sure that has happened to alot of people, after college working in a place that has nothing to do with your degree. just remember you got the jobs on your own, paid your bills on your own, met new people at each job and maybe had a little fun. Is this so? You can become career minded if you set a goal i think, and turn it into a career just think of what you would like to do and try to persue it.it probably isn't that easy but some people don't start working until after their kids have grown, after being married for so long and just need a side job. Do you pay the bills?
avlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2013, 04:17 PM   #3
njguy81 has no updates.

1 hugs
given