Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Bipolar

advertisement
Unread 01-05-2009, 03:07 PM   #1
Songgirl has no updates.

5 yr Member
Default Bipolar later in life?

I'm new here. I joined yesterday. I am a 49 year old woman, diagnosed at age 29 with Dysthymic Disorder (I can remember beginning to feel depressed at age 6!), but have also had several Major Depressive Episodes, and the occasional panic attack, along with simple phobia, and probably a few more things. Now it seems I might be Bipolar. Can anyone tell me if Bipolar illness can come upon one later in life, or has this maybe been here all along?

Thanks.
Songgirl
Songgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-06-2009, 04:39 PM   #2
Elder

madisgram has no updates.

My Mood:

5 yr Member
536 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Smile Re: Bipolar later in life?

welcome to pc! i'm glad you found us. i'm not a doctor so wouldn't want to speculate what might be your diagnosis. why don't you run this by your pdoc and discuss this concern with him?
also there are oodles of info at this site regarding bipolar and there's a quiz you can take to give you some idea of what's going on. mind you it's only a working tool,, not a diagnosis but it would probably help you to see what the results are. check out the quizzes at the community page. hope this helps.
Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark, in the hopeless swamps of the approximate, the not-quite, the not-yet, the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish, in lonely frustration for the life you deserved, but have never been able to reach. Check your road and the nature of your battle.
The world you desired can be won. It exists, it is real, it is possible, it is yours..~Ayn Rand
madisgram is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-06-2009, 05:27 PM   #3
Magnate

Michah has no updates.

My Mood:

5 yr Member PC PoohBah!
Default Re: Bipolar later in life?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Songgirl View Post