Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Bipolar

advertisement
Unread 06-14-2013, 06:52 PM   #1
Newly Joined
Bambina35 has no updates.

My Mood:

Default So, this all is happening fast...

Hi everyone!

Two days ago I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder and prescribed seroquel, working up to 300mg to begin with.

They wanted me to be treated last summer- I sort of flipped out, had episodes that turned into self abuse, and had to move home from college for a bit. I refused- due to my family thinking it was just me being 'emotional'- I am a theatre student, so of course I'm just being a drama queen, right?

Well, okay, I am a drama queen onstage- but offstage it's a little more serious than that.

Anywayssssss- I recently cannot handle all these episodes/mood swings/ I haven't slept since 1992 (I was born then, by the way)/ and my infatuations and obsessions on things have gotten annoying to the point where these rushing thoughts feel like I cannot control my own brain anymore. I made really impulsive decisions that sometimes aren't the best choices- and later feel bad about them. It's like a light switch.

Yada, yada, yada, ya'll get what I'm talking about.

I went to a counseling appointment this past week. I also box on a national team, and recently had a self abuse episode where I would punch my own self- (Because my competition wasn't that great? Kidding) so right away she threw me next door to the psychiatrist.

Bipolar disorder was thrown out at me again with a prescription.

This is all moving really fast for me. I was suppose to start the pills last night, but instead got drunk and went out because I rather not deal with it. I plan on beginning tonight- with the lack of support from family (which, we are Italian, it's suppose to be our thing I thought)- and I'm a little scared.