Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Bipolar

advertisement
Unread 06-19-2011, 08:02 PM   #1

hope610 has no updates.

3 yr Member
Default Bipolar and Infidelity

Hello-

This is my first time here and I am seeking advice. I am not bipolar but my boyfriend is. We have been together one year and one week. His last episode was 4 years ago. During the past month he started to behave differently. To make a long story short, he cheated on me. He told me what happened and we went to the psychiatrist and he is now taking Abilify. Before this episode he had not been on any medication because he was doing well and not having any episodes.

I sat in his session with the psychiatrist and he reviewed my boyfriends entire history with me. His episodes did not seem severe and he explained that my boyfriend is stable when on meds and that he has had other patients cheat while in an episode. This was the first time my boyfriend cheated.

I told my boyfriend I would give him one more chance BUT only if he stays on the medication. He agreed. This all happened 1 week before our one year anniversary. Since his episode and being on the meds he has been back to his old self and really happy again.

My question is, how can I get past his infidelity when I know he was not himself and he had an episode? During our relationship we never had any problems. We were happy and talking about marriage.

He also mentioned his episodes usually occur in the late spring early summer. His mom warned me about signs and they were there but I did not realize it at the time. Could our 1 year anniversary have triggered an episode somehow?

If this is not the best place to post my question please advise me where to go. Thanks
hope610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2011, 11:04 PM   #2
Horse Girl

blueoctober has no updates.

3 yr Member
Default Re: Bipolar and Infidelity

Quote:
Originally Posted by hope610 View Post