Psych Central

Go Back   Forums at Psych Central > Mental Health Support > Addictions

advertisement
Unread 01-24-2011, 10:48 PM   #1
Magnate

salukigirl had my first fellowship offer....time to reel 'em in!

5 yr Member
2 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default RYO vs. Regular Cigarettes

So I have been smoking since I was 14 (9 years ago). Before anyone goes off, yes I know how terrible it is and I should quit. About 2 years ago I switched to rolling my own. Right off the bat I noticed that I smoked less (from over a pack a day down to less than 10 cigarettes a day) and I started wondering if roll your own cigarettes have any different health consequences than regular cigarettes?

I have googled it and have found mostly just biased websites. Either sites specifically trying to get you to quit or sites trying to get you to buy their brand. I feel like....I'm cutting out over 2,000 chemicals....does that count for anything? Since I switched I haven't gotten 1 sinus infection (I got about 2-3 every year when smoking regular cigarettes) and I notice that if I try to smoke a 'real' cigarette, I can't even finish it. It hurts my throat, makes me cough and I can't even get half way through before I have to put it out. It just makes me feel terrible.

I feel like....if I physically feel better and noticeably smoke less.....there has to be some difference. But I haven't found any info that I consider credible. Has anyone else ever looked into this?
salukigirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2011, 07:24 AM   #2
Grey Warden

racee has no updates.

My Mood:

3 yr Member PC PoohBah!
Default Re: RYO vs. Regular Cigarettes

ok first off i have managed a smoke shop for several years so know quite a bit about tobaccoo. There are many different strengths of ryo just like reg cigarettes and there are still the same amount of chemicals in some ryo.